Regie, Kamera, Produktion Kinofilme


coop99 was founded in 1999 by the three authors/directors Barbara Albert, Jessica Hausner, Antonin Svoboda and the cinematographer Martin Gschlacht. Since January 2002 coop99 has been supported by Bruno Wagner as producer and production manager. All of them are equal managing directors and producers of the company.

coop99 consider themselves as a platform for new generations of Austrian filmmakers. Many of their projects are renowned for their authentic and individual style as well as their unyielding personal approach.

coop99 have produced more than 30 films since their formation and managed to position themselves as one of the most notable Austrian film production companies in the Arthouse sector. Most of their projects were co-produced by international partners and successfully marketed by trusted world distributers. The continuous participation of coop99 at distinguished key-festivals reinforces the company’s international working method as it boosts its successful distribution and sales worldwide.

The company’s most significant successes are the three OSCAR NOMINATIONS (2020 for Quo Vadis, Aida? as Best Foreign Language Film, 2017 for Toni Erdmann as Best Foreign Language Film, 2006 for Darwin’s Nightmare as Best Documentary), as well as several EUROPEAN FILM AWARDS (2021 Best European Film / Best Director for Quo Vadis, Aida? and Best Leading Actress for Jasna Đuričić in Quo Vadis, Aida?, 2016 Best European Film / Best Director / Best Script for Toni Erdmann, Best Leading Actress for Sandra Hüller and Best Leading Actor for Peter Simonischek in Toni Erdmann, 2010: Best Leading Actress for Sylvie Testud in Lourdes, 2004 Best Documentary for Darwin’s Nightmare) and at the BERLINALE 2006 the GOLDEN BEAR for Grbavica by Jasmila Žbanić as Best Film.

In 2019 Emily Beecham received the BEST ACTRESS AWARD for Little Joe by Jessica Hausner, which had its world premiere in the Official Competition at the Cannes Film Festival. Further films invited to Cannes are Western by Valeska Grisebach and Tehran Tabu by Ali Soozandeh in 2017, Toni Erdmann by Maren Ade in 2016, Amour Fou by Jessica Hausner in 2014, Sleepers by Benjamin Heisenberg in 2005, Hotel by Jessica Hausner, The Edukators by Hans Weingartner in 2004 and Lovely Rita by Jessica Hausner in 2001.

At the Berlinale Händl Klaus’ Tomcat won the TEDDY AWARD in 2015 and Julian Pölsler’s The Wall won the PREIS DER ÖKUMENISCHEN JURY in 2012. Further invitations to the Berlinale were received for Interpreter by Martin Šulík (2018), Animals by Greg Zglinski (2016), Na Putu (2010) and Grbavica (2016) both by Jasmila Žbanić.

The two projects Lourdes and Women Without Men won 7 prizes at the 2009 Venice International Film Festival. Among them the SILVER LIONS for Best Director went to Shirin Neshat and the prestigious FIPRESCI AWARD of international film critics went to Jessica Hausner. Further invitations to Venice were Quo Vadis, Aida? by Jasmila Žbanić in 2020, Looking for Oum Kulthum by Shirin Neshat in 2017, Pepperminta by Pipilotti Rist in 2009 and Darwin’s Nightmare by Hubert Sauper in 2004.


Jessica Hausner

Director, Writer, Producer


Barbara Albert 

Director, Writer, Producer


Martin Gschlacht 

Cinematographer, Producer



Antonin Svoboda 

Director, Writer, Producer


Bruno Wagner




Barbara Probst

Office management