Go to Top

GRACIAS A LA VIDA

SYNOPSIS

Graciasalavida

Adrián, a well integrated young man, lives with his Peruvian, unemployed mother, Maria, in a studio apartment in Vienna. Both are suffering from Maria's compuslive hoarding, which is why their apartment is totally crowded. Adrián tries to cope with her and to help her, despite his anger and shame.
When he falls in love with Lisa, a girl from a wealthy family, he gets into a lot of pressure. He thinks he has to keep up with her und hides his living conditions. To gain her son's respect, Maria claims that she found a job. But when Adrián sees his mother cleaning at Lisas's, both their lies unearth.


ABOUT THE DIRECTOR

David Clay Diaz

IMG_5645

1989 born in Asuncion, Paraguay
Writer, director und producer

+studied philosophy at the University of Vienna
+studied direction at University of Television and Film Munich

His graduation film „Agonie“, where he acted as director, script writer and producer in personal union, celebrated world premiere at the 66th Berlinale and was nominated for „Best Debut Film“. Zorro Film Distribution will launch „Agonie“ in cinemas in fall 2016. David Clay Diaz received the Kulturpreis Bayern 2016 for „Agonie“ as graduation film.


DRAMA | A, D - in preparationvon / by David Clay Diaz

Go to Top

GRACIAS A LA VIDA

SYNOPSIS

Graciasalavida

Adrián, ein gut integrierter junger Mann, lebt mit seiner peruanischen, arbeitslosen Mutter, Maria, in einer Ein-Zimmer-Wohnung in Wien. Beide leiden unter Marias Messie-Syndrom, weshalb die Wohnung von vorne bis hinten vollgeräumt ist. Adrián versucht, trotz Wut und Scham, mit ihr klarzukommen und ihr zu helfen.
Als er sich aber in Lisa, ein Mädchen aus wohlhabendem Hause, verliebt, gerät er unter immer größerem Druck. Er glaubt mit ihr mithalten und seine Lebensumstände verheimlichen zu müssen. Um den Respekt ihres Sohnes zu bekommen, behauptet Maria eine Arbeit gefunden zu haben. Doch als Adrián seine Mutter bei Lisa putzen sieht, kommen beider Lügen zugleich ans Tageslicht.


ÜBER DEN REGISSEUR

David Clay Diaz

IMG_5645

1989 in Asuncion, Paraguay geboren
Autor, Regisseur und Produzent

+Studium der Philosophie an der Uni Wien
+Regie-Studium an der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film in München (HFF)

Sein Abschlussfilm „Agonie“, bei dem er Regisseur, Drehbuchautor und Produzent in Personalunion war, feierte Weltpremiere bei der 66. Berlinale und wurde als „Bester Erstlingsfilm“ nominiert. Zorro Filmverleih bringt „Agonie“ im Herbst 2016 in die Kinos. Für „Agonie“ als Abschlussarbeit gewann David Clay Diaz den Kulturpreis Bayern 2016.


DRAMA | A, D von / by David Clay Diaz